Allison Cogan, Board PresidentAs the President of the Parsippany-Troy Hills Board of Education, I would like you to know that our Board is committed to delivering the best possible education to each student. It is an honor and privilege for us to serve the children and community of Parsippany-Troy Hills. Here are some important details about the Board:




  • Our Board is made up of nine members who are appointed or elected by registered voters of Parsippany-Troy Hills Township. Board members are residents of Parsippany and are elected to serve three-year terms. Our nine members also elect a Board President and Vice-President by a majority vote.
  • Board of Education members are unpaid volunteers, and generously contribute our time, knowledge, and talents to the school district. We are fortunate to have specialists from several professional fields represented on our Board.
  • In addition to participating in public Board of Education meetings and Committee meetings several times a month, our members are also required to attend NJSBA (New Jersey School Boards Association) training sessions annually. Many of us also participate in NJSBA committees or County meetings.
  • Board members’ actions are bound by a statutory Code of Ethics. As individuals, Board members have no legal authority. Our authority is derived from acting as a group at official Board meetings.
  • Every member of our Board has either attended our schools, has children or grandchildren who currently attend our schools, or has children who graduated from Parsippany-Troy Hills Township Public Schools. Our decisions affect not only your family but our own as well.

I encourage you to become an active participant in your child’s education. Join your child’s school PTA; volunteer your time for special programs or fundraising events; and most importantly - stay informed of the happenings not only in your school but within the Parsippany-Troy Hills Township School District. Together, we can help make Parsippany-Troy Hills an even better place for all children to learn and grow!


Alison Cogan
President, Parsippany-Troy Hills Board of Education

Email the Board

A parent or member of the community who wishes to express an opinion on an issue or who has a concern should follow the established protocol found at Problem Solving – Communications is the Key. If after following the problem solving protocols you find you would still like to contact the Board of Education members, the entire Board of Education may be emailed at [email protected]. Board members may also be reached individually following his or her individual information posted on this website’s Board of Education page.

Please note that the Board is a policy setting body and is not responsible for the administration of the District. The Superintendent, who is the executive member of the Board of Education and Chief Executive Officer, is responsible for implementing District policies, overseeing day-to-day administration and operations, and addressing problems. The Superintendent can be contacted at [email protected] or by calling 973-263-7200.

Please note that all written, email and text communications to Board members about Board business become a part of the public record and can be accessed by the public using the Open Public Records Act (OPRA). All communication about Board business to Board members' personal email addresses, social media accounts and cell phones are part of the public record and can be made public under OPRA.

School Board Basics: Frequently Asked Questions

Group email - [email protected]

Mrs. Alison Cogan (2025) President
Mrs. Sheethal Abraham (2024)
Mr. Matthew DeVitto (2023)
Mrs. Susy Golderer (2024) Vice President
Mrs. Judy Mayer (2024)
Mrs. Deborah Orme(2023)
Mr. Jack Raia (2025)
Mrs. Michelle Shappell (2025)
Mrs. Kendra Von Achen (2023)